The Postmortal by Drew Magary

Standard

You can’t stop people from doing what they want to do. They’re always going to do it. Mankind has a path for itself, a trajectory , and you can never knock it off of that course.

Because that’s what people do, Solara. They go along in life and they figure out who’s worth giving a shit about and who they can let fall by the wayside. And all they can do after that is hope against all hope that they cast their lot with the right kind. And that they didn’t let slip away someone they desperately should’ve held onto.

I just finished reading this novel by Drew Magary that came out last 2011. I’ve said it before that our library (National Chengchi University) is so awesome! I found this book at the “New Arrivals” section last week and I was immediately caught by its bright cover. The description at the back piqued my interest so I decided to borrow it. I must say, it’s a good read. I finished it in a day! I didn’t want to put it down.

Description: Imagine a near future where a cure for aging is discovered and – after much political and moral debate – made available to people worldwide. Immortality, however, comes with its own unique problems – including evil green people, government euthanasia programs, a disturbing new religious cult, and other horrors. Witty, eerie, and full of humanity, The Postmortal is an unforgettable thriller that envisions a pre-apocalyptic world so real that it is completely terrifying.

About Therese

Fil-Chi | Millennial | Worked in the freight forwarding & logistics industry | Pivoted to tech | Interested in digital marketing, UX, and project management. Developing my skills, working to improve myself, seizing opportunities, and documenting my learnings along the way ♥

One response »

Tell me what you think...