April 18-24, 2016

Standard

Due to my stupidity, I hit my knee (well, the area above my knee plus part of my knee) real hard and it bruised. I couldn’t bend it and it hurt to walk. I had been looking forward to my Tuesday yoga class but I wasn’t able to go because I was sure I wouldn’t be able to do most of the positions properly. I just spent the first half of the week at home doing light exercises and mostly upper body ones at that.

That gave T and I the chance to have dinner together every night for the first half of the week. We also watched some movies – Victor Frankenstein and Weaponized (such a sucky movie, don’t watch it if you don’t want to waste your time). I was also able to publish a couple of blog entries and FB albums.

On Thursday, my knee was much better so I was able to attend one of my favorite (but only because it’s really hard) hot yoga classes. There’s always a feeling of wanting to die during class but once it’s over, there’s a sense of satisfaction and happiness (endorphins?) at surviving and pushing yourself to do more than what you previously did.

On Friday afternoon, I went to the notary public to notarize an appointment letter for our Brazil agent (for the Brazilian customs). It was nice to be out of the office for a while and to just walk outside. Good thing too that it wasn’t too hot, although on the way back it was more humid that I sweated a bit.

At night, I met up with my friends Ann and Lorraine at Woolloomooloo Out West in Ximending for dinner. We were lucky enough to be there on a night they had a live band event, because we got to listen to live music. It was a small group of 3 musicians that were all foreigners called 帥國人 which is a play of words on the Chinese translation of “foreigner”. They replaced the first word to mean “handsome”. They weren’t exceptional, and there were a lot of times the singer lost his voice, or ran out of breath, but overall they’re pretty all right. I was also too caught up with our conversations that I didn’t pay that much attention to the music. For me, they were just playing in the background. The food was gooood! I really liked it, and I enjoyed our time there.

Lorraine had to submit a homework before midnight so we looked for an Internet cafe nearby. It was funny because Ann found one online saying that the Internet cafe was “hidden in plain sight” aka you wouldn’t easily see it but it’s there. We tried to look for it but we couldn’t find it so we ended up asking the cashier at a Family Mart. It was funny how his face lit up because he knew where it is so he pointed it out to us. True enough, you (or well, we) wouldn’t know that that’s already it. We stayed there for about an hour and a half while Lorraine was typing her homework. Ann and I just talked and used our phones. The seats were pretty comfortable and we saw people there playing games, watching movies, and even sleeping! I wasn’t able to see how much 8 hours cost though. It’s 35ntd per hour of computer use.

On Saturday, I finally got the chance to wash my winter clothes. I also finally got rid of some clothes and organized my closet (last week, I just threw all of the clothes inside my closet so it was really messy). I know that I have to keep decluttering and throwing stuff away because honestly, I have too much stuff!!! I’m working on that.

At night, Lorraine came over to eat dinner and to just hang out. She also composed this letter for this crazy person that was basically, crazy. After throwing away the trash, the three of us went out and I was finally able to try the Izakaya on Jingmei bridge. I’d been wanting to try it for a long time because there were always a lot of people there but haven’t had the opportunity to do so. The food was good and the vibes of the place was also good. I’d go back there next time.

On Sunday, I went to MECO to vote together with my Filipino friends. We got there in the afternoon and there weren’t that much people so we didn’t have to wait long. After voting, we looked for a place to eat/drink coffee and ended up in Ikari Coffee. I ordered a blueberry cheesecake and latte. I didn’t want to eat a lot because we would be going to T’s cousin’s house that night for dinner. Two of his relatives were in Taipei from Thailand and Japan so there was a family gathering of sorts. Funny how his brother wasn’t supposed to bring his girlfriend when he said that he was on his way, but after about an hour or so, he messaged saying he was really on his way and that the girl was going with him. Hahahaha they probably argued about it. After dinner, we played this game where everybody gets a card but someone gets a card different from everybody else. Then, each person takes turns saying something about what they’ve seen in the card and at the end of each round, everybody guesses the odd man out. It was hard because everything was in Chinese, and if someone says something that I don’t understand, then… I wouldn’t understand it. Hahahaha. Oh well.

That’s how the past week went. On to another week!

About Therese

Fil-Chi | Millennial | Worked in the freight forwarding & logistics industry | Pivoted to tech | Interested in digital marketing, UX, and project management. Developing my skills, working to improve myself, seizing opportunities, and documenting my learnings along the way ♥

Tell me what you think...