Daily Archives: May 31, 2013

May 2013

Standard

Here’s a breakdown of what happened in May:

  • I was supposed to go to the library but then Milan said that she was going jogging, so I decided to go jogging with her too. After that, we had dinner with José at the new Japanese restaurant near our school.
  • José passed by this place in our school where you can see fireflies, and he brought me there so that I could see it too. At first, there were only a couple of fireflies but over time, more and more came. So pretty!
  • Some of my friends and I had lunch together and then we had general discussions about free and fair trade. I don’t really know much about those topics but it seems to be one of the controversial issues in international studies. After that, I hitched a ride with Timothy home. We also passed by Lattea on the way. Wee!
  • I met up with Lorraine and Enelyn at Dante Coffee where we studied for a while before we headed to Joyce’s place for their housewarming potluck party. So fun! Then, I went to Wufenpu to meet up with Richelle and Roxane for dinner.
  • Since I had already renewed my passport, I was finally able to renew my ARC. It was a good thing that I claimed my ARC before the Philippines-Taiwan fiasco happened else something could have happened to it and I wouldn’t have been able to claim it.
  • José, Milan, Timothy and I went to school for a study session. Timothy treated us to Starbucks and then we spent the rest of the afternoon checking midterms. Gaaah!
  • Sometimes, rash decisions can equal loss of money. Tsk, tsk, tsk! I bought tickets to go back to the Philippines way before I knew my schedule. Eventually, academic stuff got in the way which led me to forgo going home.
  • The boy bought me a mini-exercise machine. Aww!
  • We celebrated mother’s day and Goku and Gokim’s wedding anniversary at Cafe Grazie. It was my first time there, and I can say the food is pretty okay but it was a bit expensive.
  • My international trade classes started this month, and I can say that I have learned quite a few things so far. We had 2 sessions where we learned how to write a high power business plan. Due to time constraints, we didn’t get to write one ourselves, we just learned the steps to making one as well as see samples. It’s such a complicated process that I probably won’t write one anytime soon.
  • The boy is going to the Philippines to visit me this summer! He’s going to join my family and I on our trip to Coron, my most favorite island in the Philippines! I can’t wait!
  • I went to a museum on International Museum Day for the first time. I went to Taipei Story House and then went to the Museum of Fine Arts.
  • Some of the Filipino scholars and I had dinner at the Szechuan restaurant and then we had dessert at Apt Cafe. It was a night full of laughter and a night we all needed.
  • I saw this tweet on my feed: “Seek out people who will set standards for you higher than you think you can meet.” This goes well for the irritating professor who told me, “You’re trying to do a lot but this is only a small research paper… Maybe you can write that for your master’s thesis.” I’m ambitious, what do you care?! The same professor told me, “If you want a higher grade, choose an easier topic, one that you’re familiar with.” UGH! I seriously didn’t and don’t like this professor!
  • My cousins and I went to Ximen to have our hairs cut, and then the boy and I walked around Ximen, and then met up with my cousins at Shilin night market. Then, we went home and then the boy dyed my hair. Hahaha!
  • I think the hardest part of writing a research paper is deciding on the topic.
  • The boy and I finally tried this hotpot place near our house. I don’t know why people line up for hours just to eat there. It’s nothing special. I must admit that the veggies are fresh though. On another day, we had steak for dinner because he knows how I like to eat steak. Hihihi.