Philippines 2015: Day 1 (Yabu, Burger Connection, H2O Spa, My Kitchen by Chef Chris)

Standard

On the last week of December 2015, I went back home to the Philippines for the holidays. I was supposed to go back for Christmas but due to some office-related stuff, I wasn’t able to. It’s all right though, at least I was able to spend my birthday and New Year in the Philippines.

Every time I go home, I feel like time is never enough and that I’ve missed out on a lot of things and happenings with the lives of my family and friends. However, as my friend clearly puts it, “You’ve made that decision.” Yes I did. I don’t regret coming here and trying out how it is to work and live abroad, and I do know that all of our decisions have their trade-offs so I’m not going to dwell on that anymore.

This post is to remember the things I did and the places (mostly restaurants) I went to on this specific trip:

Day 1: Dec 26 (Saturday)

I got out of the airport at around 4AM. My parents picked me up, and since we were hungry, and because it was our tradition, we headed to Aristocrat in Roxas Boulevard for breakfast/post airport pick-up meal. We ordered sinigang na tiyan ng bangus (tamarind soup with milkfish belly), chicken barbeque, and stuffed squid. Yum! The servings are much smaller now though, I feel like. After eating, we headed home and went to sleep!

Woke up and got ready for lunch. Austin picked me up and we went to Robinson’s Magnolia. We didn’t really know where to eat so we ended up in Yabu because he wanted unlimited rice and salad. Hahaha I ordered the salmon because I was craving for salmon. Admittedly, I don’t eat a lot of fish in Taiwan. Mostly, I just eat meat and vegetables.

After lunch, Austin dropped me off at Burger Connection. My friends and I were supposed to go to Ludo for food and board games, but we found out that they open at 4PM and I had to leave by around 5PM for another appointment. Burger Connection is this small board game burger restaurant located at Sct. Rallos, Tomas Morato. I was the only customer when I got there, but as the day went along, the place became packed. Wow, I didn’t expect that. They have a minimum fee of PhP150 per person (consumable), and so we ordered nachos, fries, and iced tea. Bry also ordered a burger because he was hungry. They had a variety of games to choose from, and we ended up playing the following: Love Letters, Walk the Plank, Geistes Blitz 2.0, Exploding Kittens, etc.

Since I had to meet mom at H2O Spa for our body massage appointment, we left at around 5:30PM. I hitched a ride with Kimbies and in the car, we talked about her future plans (she wants to study abroad!) and current ongoings in her life.

I had a full body massage at H2O spa because mom had gift certificates. Massages are more expensive in Taiwan and so I make it a priority to get a body massage each time I go back home. We laid on the hot bed after the massage and it was really relaxing. After that, we went to Makan restaurant to claim our free drinks. I had the carrot pineapple juice while mom had the carrot orange juice.

Then, we met up with dad for dinner. We were supposed to go to Greeka Kouzina because I was craving for their fig walnut salad, but they were already closed at that time so we ended up going to My Kitchen by Chef Chris. We ordered his signature dish – panizza. It’s this pizza divided into thin strips that you roll together with arugula and olive oil. Yummy! We also ordered a shrimp pasta dish that was also delicious. Dad liked the food so that’s good.

I’ll write about Day 2 in a separate post!

Tell me what you think...

