First two weeks of October 2015

Standard

What do you know? We’re already on the third week of October. I was supposed to write an entry about the first half of October, but things happened and I never got around to posting it.

I’ll still write about how the first two weeks of October looked like. Here goes:

I celebrated my first work anniversary and wrote about it here.

I had my first Pilates class. There’s usually no Pilates classes on weeknights / after work and so I hadn’t had the chance to try it out yet. One day, a class suddenly appeared at a time when I was available and so I quickly booked it. It was hard because Pilates is really about your core strength, which is something I seriously lack. However, because of the yoga practice I’ve been doing the past few months, I feel like I’m stronger than before. My core is stronger than before and I can hold positions for a few seconds longer than before. I’ll get to having a really strong core (and hopefully a flat tummy/toned abs) eventually. Slowly and surely, right?

Another class I enjoy taking is Hatha Vinyasa. The teacher is really good. The routine/flow is a combination of easy and hard, so I get to challenge myself to do harder poses and to stretch myself further. Unlike in hot yoga, I feel like Hatha Vinyasa is more of flow so we don’t get to rest for the entire hour. The poses and the moves are all connected to each other for the whole duration of the class. You can take a break if you can’t do it anymore but there won’t be a break initiated by the teacher.

One of my high school friends who is currently here taking her master’s was missing hotpot so we went to this hotpot place around Wanfang area. She also invited some of our Filipino scholar friends. After dinner, we went to Dante Coffee supposedly for coffee and dessert but by the time we were ready to order, we found out that they were about to close. We had to call it a night.

T finally downloaded Tomorrowland so we watched it on a weekend. I remember talking to R about it before because she watched it, and she told me she liked it a lot in that it was very enlightening. While I was watching it however, I felt like the concept is not something we haven’t seen in other movies – all the talk of taking care of our resources and of our planet, nurturing the “weirdness”, diversity, and talents of people in order to come up with “out of the box” ideas on how to “save the world”, etc etc. Overall, it was still good.

T’s company had a bowling event and they could bring their families/whoever they wanted to bring so I accompanied him. I also invited Roxane to come along since she was free that day and I know she likes to play bowling too. Their company served food (hotdogs and fries from Mo’s Burger, donuts, and chocolates) and drinks (pearl milk tea, black tea, etc. from 50lan) before the event started so we were happy campers! T joined the friendly competition so he was in another lane. Roxane and I joined the lane for “guests/friends”. We were able to play 2 rounds before the event ended.

After that, we decided to go to Coffee Alley for dinner. They had a 1.5 (or was it 2) hour limit but because there weren’t a lot of people there that night, they didn’t ask us to leave when the time was up. We stayed there for more than 3 hours, if I remember correctly. Roxane and I talked a lot and shared stories of what had been happening in our lives.

Anne Hathaway’s The Intern made me think of Vince Vaughn’s The Internship, so I told T to download it since it’s been a couple of years since it was released. We watched it one Saturday afternoon at home. At night, since we’d spent the entire day at home, we went to Jingmei and then to Carrefour to walk around.

My manager treated our team to lunch at Texas Roadhouse Grill to celebrate my first work anniversary. One of the topics brought up during lunch was about me getting to travel next year on business trips and whatnot. Now, I know I shouldn’t easily believe these things because there is no certainty that they will really happen, but I really do hope I get to travel more next year. Let’s see. The government changed its rules and requirements again for hiring foreigners, and I’m really lucky that I was able to get a job offer before the last change; otherwise, I won’t be able to earn as much as I’m currently earning. Heehee, whew!

After my manager came back from the US, she brought her Keurig machine to the office because she finally bought Keurig capsules. Apparently, they’re not being sold in Taiwan so she can only get them there. She only bought black coffee / French roast capsules though. I tried it once and I put milk in (of course) and it’s all right.

We had a holiday/long weekend and T and I were supposed to go to the beach but it kept raining the entire weekend and it got colder so we didn’t end up going. We just stayed at home and started watching Fast and the Furious. We also went to our favorite pasta place in Jingmei night market, Mint. We also hung out at Starbucks because we were lazy to go anywhere else.

I read this article titled “Where might a baby be luckiest to be born in 2013?” and according to the results of EIU, the top country is Switzerland followed by Australia. These are actually 2 of the countries in my list of countries I want to go to. Australia was actually one of the countries I wanna move to, or at least try living in for around a year or so because I feel like they lead such chill lives and it justlooks like a comfortable country to be in (not taking into consideration the high living expenses, of course).

I was reading an article on some of the traits of mentally strong people, and one of the things that struck me was the following: “While some people seek validation from others, mentally strong people are less concerned about gaining recognition. Instead, they’re instrinsically motivated to become better.” This one is also good: “Mentally strong people are constantly learning from their circumstances and the people they encounter every day.”

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipina | University of the Philippines Diliman - BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University - MA International Development | Working in the freight forwarding/logistics industry Learning to believe in myself more and not being afraid to seize opportunities ♥

Tell me what you think...

