Last 2 weeks of September 2015

Standard

Guess you know what this post is going to be about, right? Since it’s already October (wow, really? More on that later), it’s time for me to write about the last 2 weeks of September.

First of all, I didn’t realize how much I had spent over the past year until I had a conversation with my sister about how much money we have left in our bank accounts. As per my current calculations (of basically the expenses that I can only remember), and looking at how much I’ve earned and how much I have left, I have only saved about 32% of my income. Whaaaat. Well, I feel like 32% is all right – not a lot, I know, but it’s better than nothing?

Towards the latter part of September, I felt like I was wasting my time because I didn’t have a lot of work load. Other than that, and maybe because I was being hormonal, I suddenly felt like I wasn’t doing anything meaningful with my life. I wanted to do something more productive or more meaningful, but I did’t know what I wanna be doing instead. I still feel like I wanna be in this field, but maybe I want to go more into the operations or logistics part of it? Hmmm.

T and I went to Costco with Jackie and Lorr. We’d been talking about going there to check out their stuff and since Jackie is a member, we could all go together. I bought 2 months worth of instant coffee (2-in-1 coffee sachets) because I felt like it was cheaper compared to buying lattes from convenience stores almost everyday. See, say for example I buy latte every work day for a month. At around 50NTD per cup multiplied by 20 work days, that’s 1000NTD. On the other hand, a sachet costs around 6NTD and that equates to only 120NTD a month. I can save 880NTD a month! I don’t drink coffee everyday though, so that’s just an example. However, I don’t know if there are negative health effects of drinking instant coffee. Oh well.

I talked to my manager about reading other materials while at work and she gave me the green light. According to her, if I were to read materials related to our field, it would still be considered work because after all, I’d reading up on work-related matters that would possibly help in the future (say in problem solving or case handling).

Left the office on time to go home for dinner with T. He cooked steak while I cooked pasta. We ate dinner while watching Unfinished Business. I also got my new phone – an HTC Desire 820S in white and blue. My old one was dying and I was getting really annoyed at how unreliable it has become. Originally, I wanted a newer (read: more expensive) model but then I didn’t want to spend so much on a phone so I went for a cheaper but still good quality phone.

Had a productive Saturday because I decided to accompany T to the market. When I woke up, I did my laundry first so that I could just hang them up to dry after going to the market. We bought fruits and vegetables but we didn’t really get to buy a lot because current prices are expensive. We went home to eat lunch, and then we went to the gym in the afternoon. After jogging on the treadmill and using some of the weights, I talked to my friend Nicole for a while to catch up and then T and I had dinner. At night, we watched Return to Sender and it was a really weird movie in that the plot was really simple and predictable. You’d also know the entire movie from the trailer, so there was no point in spending time watching the movie. Tsk, tsk. I also talked with Nicole for a bit and it felt nice to catch up with a friend over the phone, although of course catching up in person is even better.

I finished reading Sheryl Sandberg’s Lean In, and what I like about these type of books is that they’re easy to read and there are a lot of personal stories inside. Previously, I also read the autobiographical / inspirational books written by Amy Poehler, Tina Fey, and Mindy Kaling.

We were supposed to attend this jazz thing before T went back to Kaohsiung on a business trip, but I didn’t want him to have to carry his luggage to the venue so I decided not to go anymore. We stayed at home, had dinner, and watched Fantastic Four (not the one with Jessica Alba in it). When he left, I watched the second and third week of this negotiation class in Coursera. I also downloaded new apps such as Podcast Listening.

For some reason, I decided I wanted to have tomato egg omelet for breakfast. Woke up a bit earlier than usual, went through my usual morning routine, and then prepared my ham and cheese sandwich, chopped the tomatoes, and then cooked it with egg. It was a pretty boring work day. I answered some emails, worked on some stuff, read some articles, and started working on the PPT presentation that I have to do. When I got home after yoga class, I just had some instant noodles (because I had been craving for them) while watching Youtube videos.

The rest of the week was pretty much the same. I answered mails, read articles, worked on the PPT presentation and the report that I had to compile, etc. etc. I also prepared my breakfast and basically my food for work since T wasn’t around. I had my period so one day, A and J gave me ginger and black sugar tea to drink because apparently, it helps. I’ve never been one to drink ginger tea but it was surprisingly good. That sentence was the cramps talking. Hahaha!

We also got our Mid-Autumn bonus this week, yay! On the last Friday of the month, I left work on time to go to the bus station. We had a long weekend on account of the Mid-Autumn Festival, and even if I already had tickets, I figured I could wait in line to see if I could leave earlier. It was a really, really bad decision because I ended up just wasting my time and still leaving at the time written on my ticket. There were just a loooooooot of people all waiting and it was crazy! Ugh. Never doing that again. I’ll write about my Kaohsiung weekend in the next post.

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipina | University of the Philippines Diliman - BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University - MA International Development | Working in the freight forwarding/logistics industry Learning to believe in myself more and not being afraid to seize opportunities ♥

Tell me what you think...

