Five Things (February 9-15)

Standard

1 – I was really busy the past two weeks, with one of the reasons being that my other colleague went on a business trip to HK. She came back and brought us these yummy peeled chestnuts!

2 – Woohoo apparently I have yr-end bonus!! Totally wasn’t expecting any bec. I haven’t been here for a yr! Turns out it’s on a ratio basis (?) so I have 92 days worth of year-end bonus/13th month pay! In other work-related news, I’ve also been able to secure 2 shipments – one by sea and the other by air. Wee! I hope I get more shipments and they become regular.

3 – We had a simple little afternoon snack of French toast, strawberries drizzled with a bit of condensed milk, milk tea, and honey cake while watching a movie. I can’t remember

4 – There are so many reasons why I’m lucky to have him as my boyfriend, one of which is that he cooks for me. For this year’s Valentines’ celebration, he prepared a 3-course (4 if you count the store bought dessert) homemade meal. We had corn soup, steak with corn and broccoli sides, teppanyaki noodles, and fruit yogurt. We also had a glass each of Spanish red wine. After dinner, we walked around the park because we were so full. It was a quiet and pretty inexpensive (compared to eating out) celebration filled with love. #cheesy

5 – I’ve been with the company for 4 months now and since the Lunar New Year is just around the corner, we had our year-end party yesterday. It was my first time (duhhh) attending and the overall experience was good. I didn’t want to spend money on a dress, hair, and make-up so I just found something from my closet, put on my own “make-up”, and fixed my own hair. We had to be at the hotel before 3PM, and the rest of the afternoon was spent listening to different managers/departments presenting the annual review/look back on how the past year has been and then also listening to our CEO and Vice-CEOs (?) talk about the past year and the year to come. Then, we had the recognition ceremony for employees that have been with the company for 5/10/15/20/30 years, and then we had the raffle (but you had to have been with the company for a year to be eligible so I wasn’t part of it). After that, we had some time to go to the lobby for photo sessions and then we went back inside the ballroom for the dinner event. There was a long pause after the 3rd dish came out, and everyone spent this time going around the room paying respect/toasting to older/more senior people. Apparently, it’s mandatory and that’s how it’s done every year.

At first, I didn’t know that there was going to be an after-party and I thought that it was a department thing, that it was up to each department if they wanted to go out after the official year-end party. Turns out, our company reserved some rooms at the nearby KTV for the use and enjoyment of the employees. I got dragged to the KTV by tipsy/half-drunk people and it’s something I don’t regret. “Seize the moment and who knows? It might just be something you’ll remember for the rest of your life.”

Since it was my first time, I wanted to experience the whole thing. I wanted to see what people did and how the after-party would be. It was so much fun watching the drunk people and it was also fun meeting and getting introduced to a lot of new people. I was also very flattered that quite a number of guys told me that I’m pretty. Hahaha I know they might not have been sincere, or they were under the influence of alcohol, but whatever. My hands were also held multiple times, and I was also hugged a lot. I didn’t mind because I have a lot of guy friends back in the Philippines and I feel like hugging is normal anyway. I told my boyfriend everything that happened that night, so all’s good. It was a fun night and it’s something that I’m going to remember for a very long time. I just wished I drank more and let loose more. Harhar.

Incomplete #ootd c/o my colleague

 

I had to have a picture with the import department

 

The 3-woman ISS department

 

Together with Taipei HQ’s president and his business secretary. I don’t know how to pose. Hahaha!

 

Decided to take a selfie when I got home, despite me already being a mess XD

 

2 responses »

    • Hahaha no name dropping so okay lang :)) nilagay ko yun actually kasi inisip ko baka mag-comment ka somewhere along the lines of, alam ba yan ni tahong blah blah XD kaya nilagyan ko na lang ng disclaimer!

      Like

Tell me what you think...

