December 15-28, 2014

Standard

December 15 – It was my last day in the import department, and by Tuesday I was back in my original department. It’s been a pretty good 2 months being in the import department, but I must say that I was getting tired of it. Now it’s off to another challenge, new opportunities, and more learnings.

Random snapshots:

Lunch

 

Dinner at Carrefour

 

Bought Moscato and Camembert – my fave wine and cheese :)

 

Went to Dom’s hotel to visit him

 

Day 1 (December 16)

Translated an English article about ISF Filing to Chinese to be sent to our branch offices in China. Translated a Chinese email to English for our Japan agent. Took a look at the invitation for our year-end party and edited it a bit. Checked some emails. Started using 2015 Mickey and Minnie calendar. Reflection paper.

Day 2 (December 17)

Excel file about Wxx Group’s Cargo Volume Analysis, Excel file about Middle East/India/Pakistan agent and cargo volume analysis. Called up Philippine agent. Got 2 new notebooks (Hyundai and Hanjin).

Day 3 (December 18)

Picked up Indian client from the Westin and came to the office. Meeting. Told manager about March trip. Continued writing my reflection paper. Got a Louisa Coffee latte from the sales person handling the account of the Indian client. Philippine agents (Clark and pumice stone). Middle East excel file.

I think I’m going to enjoy being in my original department more because I feel like I’m going to be learning a lot more especially in terms of understanding the situation of the company as a whole (including our branch offices and whatnot). I also like the level of independence that I’m enjoying here, and the travel opportunities to be had in the future.

Day 4 (December 19)

The day just passed by so fast! I worked on the Middle East file and I finally finished doing it. Fruit platter breakfast. Ate lunch at Thai Village together with the President. Ooooh. Talked about stuff but there were a lot of things I didn’t understand because they were talking about company matters/people. The president did mention that they will open a branch office in the Philippines some time in the future. Ooh, maybe I would be sent there or something. IDK. I hope I get to travel a lot back home, and also to Latin America/Spanish-speaking countries. Came back to the office. Commended for working efficiently and quickly producing outputs.

More snapshots:

Fave Korean chicken stall at Shida night market

 

Tried out this restaurant (didn’t really like it) at Shida night market

 

Winter solstice calls for Tang Yuan

 

Tried McDo’s new burger

 

Matcha and cream cake from my colleague

 

Our fave lunch restaurant near the office

 

Day 5 (December 22) – South Africa and South America excel file. Buyer guide. MNL agent, Stuttgart, Germany agent

Day 6 (December 23) – Emailed OP to ask them what they think about our Middle East and India, and South Africa and South America agents. DHL packages. Translations of company profiles and video shiz. Buyer guide.

Day 7 (December 24) – price quotation, gift from M. Awww! Dinner at Ponderosa with relatives.

Day 8 (December 25) – About USA and LatAm handling, gift from JPG, celebration (afternoon snack) for Q4 birthday celebrants (red envelope!), natal chart reading – lucky girl! Dinner at Inn Cafe with HS friends who came to visit.

Random thoughts:

I think that no matter how long I’ve been here, I’ll always be the foreigner. My accent and way of speaking will also always give me off. Let’s see what happens in the coming years, or if I gain enough confidence to communicate “professionally.”

If you had told me years ago that I would be in the logistics industry, I wouldn’t have believed you. I knew nothing about it. Furthermore, if you had told me that I would be doing what I’m doing now, which is a mix of sales and service, I also wouldn’t believe you. These just go to show that we can’t be 100% sure what will happen in our lives, or how our lives will turn out but we just have to trust that things will turn out for the better, and that we will be guided in the right direction. At least that’s what I believe in.

Day 9 (December 26) – Didn’t have a lot to do today because most of our work have to do with our overseas agents and they’re mostly (if not all) still on holiday and so we didn’t receive a lot of emails. My manager included. They were preparing for their trip to Myanmar. I helped her exchange USD bills at the bank. Cake from J. Went to A-Mart for hotpot ingredients, roast chicken, and sausage. Burned my Vanilla Chai candle and read Scorch Trials. Fell asleep.

Day 10 (December 27) – Had to work on a Saturday because the government declared the 2nd as a holiday in order to have a long weekend, and to make up for that, we had to work on a Saturday. I had lunch with A, J, and K. Found out a lot of stuff about the company and other people. Feels like some insider info. Year-end party, 35th anniversary party, entertaining agents, pretty girl, business trips, etc.

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipina | University of the Philippines Diliman - BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University - MA International Development | Working in the freight forwarding/logistics industry Learning to believe in myself more and not being afraid to seize opportunities ♥

Tell me what you think...

