Five Things (December 1-7)

Standard

Some of the blogs I follow have this weekly entry wherein they post about 5 links / products that they’ve liked that past week. I thought that was a pretty good idea so I’ve decided to do the same. However, I’ll be posting things/events that I’ve liked/made me happy to remind myself to appreciate the little things.

1 – I don’t know how, maybe it started with me opening a link shared by my friend on Sarah G’s new single, or opening a link of the PhilPop 2014 songs, but one thing led to another and now I’ve discovered a couple of OPM (original Pinoy music) songs that I like. I’m going to be sharing them below:

2 – I went to Kaohsiung for the weekend to attend a wedding (will be writing a separate post about this). It was a short but fun trip nonetheless.

3 – My cousin and his wife (Ahia JJ and Achi MM) came to Taiwan for a short vacation and mom asked them to bring some stuff for me. I got 2 of my shoes (that I left in the Philippines), 2 jars of snacks, a Christmas decoration (snowman!), and a notebook that I actually told my mom not to send to me anymore. Pictures to follow.

4 – I was able to finish reading a book this week. It’s A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. I know of The Kite Runner but I haven’t read it, so when I saw that this book is from the same author, I figured that it must also be good. I gave it a go and despite not having a very strong connection/identification with the culture and the characters, I still found it to be a good read.

5 – One of my good friends from university, Harrell, was in Taiwan on a business trip and he messaged me asking to meet up. B and I went to his hotel and then we went to a nearby coffee shop to have coffee, cake, and to just talk. It feels good to be around real friends where you can just be yourself and you can speak the same language fluently. I still feel the most comfortable speaking Filipino.

Tell me what you think...

