November 23-30

Standard

A spontaneous talk with one of our clients made me question my decisions for a brief moment. It started with him asking about my name and wondering where I’m from, which led us to talking about some stuff, and ended with him telling me not to stay in this company or in this particular department too long because he feels that I would be wasting my skill set and my capabilities.

On the one hand, it feels good to hear those things from him; for him to say those things to me despite not really knowing me, but on the other hand it made me think about whether I really am “wasting” myself here. However, I’m only in this department for a couple of months because I’m helping out and “interning” and then I’m going back to my original department where I feel I can do better things and where I can be more comfortable. I also don’t have plans on staying here forever and I believe that I can learn a lot here, and I can use these as a stepping stone to someday move onward and upward. Hee. It’s good though that I was reminded that we need to remember not just our potential but also our worth.

Anyway, to less serious things. Here are some pictures that I took the past week:

That’s homemade pumpkin soup in the cup!

We have a Christmas tree in the office!

It was his first time cooking eggplant, and I must say, this is delicious.

This is his second time cooking pumpkin (the first is the pumpkin soup in one of my previous picture posts). He decided to make it into a mashed potato consistency, and to add bacon. Yum!

We decided to go to the market to see if the fruits and veggies were cheaper, and this is the only photo that I was able to take. We ended up buying bananas and some veggies.

Teddy Bear says hello!

It’s the last day of November. Come tomorrow, it’s going to be December and before we know it, 2014 will have come to a close. I still can’t believe how quick time flies, which should make us realize that we should really enjoy life and make the most out of it. 2014 has been yet another awesome year (overall) for me, and I’m truly thankful for all that’s happened in my life thus far. I’ll be posting another year-in-review by the time this year ends. Can’t wait for that!

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipina | University of the Philippines Diliman - BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University - MA International Development | Working in the freight forwarding/logistics industry Learning to believe in myself more and not being afraid to seize opportunities ♥

2 responses »

  1. The way that bear is saying hello is so cute. Also, don’t worry–as long as you’re being challenged by what you do at work, you should be fine :P If you feel like you’re not learning anymore, time to move.

    Like

    • I know right! It’s super cute, and it’s really big! There are days when I feel like things are repetitive but there are days when I encounter something new (and challenging) and I learn from it. I’ve only been here 2 months so I’m pretty sure I’m still going to learn more in the months to come especially since I’ll be going back to my department tomorrow. Hee. I really hope the next 3 years are filled with a lot of learning (and travel) opportunities!

      Like

Tell me what you think...

