Things happen for a reason

Standard

I posted this on my Instagram account earlier today with the following caption:

I’ve been pretty silent about this because I wanted to wait until things were official before I announce it. Now that my documents are almost complete (2 weeks left before I can claim my ARC), I can finally say that… YAY! I GOT A JOB OFFER and I’M GONNA BE WORKING IN TAIWAN! When my work permit came out last Friday, that’s when it really started to sink in. Never did I imagine that I would be going abroad or that I would be presented with all these opportunities (that I would of course grab and work hard for) over the past 3 years so I’m truly grateful for everything. The path thus far hasn’t been easy (stressful) but I’m glad that I’m here and I feel really blessed <3 #growingup #blessed #newchapterinmylife #hardworkpaysoff #thingshappenforareason #ittakescouragetofly #apreslatempetevientlecalme

I actually wrote (by hand) a short entry on my planner about this last Friday, so I’ve decided to include that here:

Things are slowly falling in place. I wrote that before I left for Taiwan 3 years ago. Now I’m writing it again. I believe that things happen for a reason. You might not agree with me but in my life, I’ve always seen this to be true. Maybe it’s just a way of finding meaning in daily events or maybe it could also be a coping mechanism, but I’m sticking to it. This particular entry talks about my whole job hunting process over the past few months, which has further reinforced in me this belief. Of course, there are also other aspects of my life where I have seen this, especially over the past 3 years that I’ve been here, but those are not the foci (?) of this post.

Going back… When I first got to Taiwan for my scholarship, I seriously did not plan on extending my stay. I was set on finishing my studies and then going back home to find a corporate job and then eventually go into government or international institutions. However, plans change and I decided to try finding a job here. I was under a lot of stress over the past few months not only because of job hunting but also because of my thesis. I did not think I would be able to find a job especially in a country whose main industries are so different from my background, and also given my lack of work experience.

Now that my work permit is finally out and I’m going to be starting the ARC procedures on Monday, it is slowly starting to sink in that I’m really going to be working here – thousands of kilometers away from my family and friends and the country I’ve called home for the majority of my existence. This might sound dramatic because I HAVE been living in Taiwan for the past 3 years, but for some reason, it feels different. Working feels so… grown up. So independent. As if taking my master’s degree wasn’t grown up enough, right? Studying and working still feel different though. University life and working life are also different in terms of the people around me.

At university, I was surrounded by foreigners, much like myself. Once I start working, I will be surrounded by locals. There is that pressure of having to fit in and having to prove myself because I will among the very few, if not the only, foreigner in the company. I know I shouldn’t worry too much because things will fall into place and things will happen for a reason, so I will do my best, gain as much experience and knowledge as I can, and try to enjoy the ride!

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipino | University of the Philippines Diliman | BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University | MA International Development | Currently working in the logistics industry Gotta live like you're dying ♥ Believe in yourself and don't be afraid to seize opportunities Stay positive

Tell me what you think...

