Hello June 2014!

Standard

Wow, can you believe that we’re already halfway through the year?? And we’re more than halfway through the month!!! Yikes. My days are starting to be numbered, and important decisions have to start being made. Or I could always just go with the flow and see where life takes me. Hmm. Anyway, let’s talk about the first half of the month.

  • A few days after meeting up with Merry, we met up again for lunch at Orient Kitchen, on the basement of Bellavita (this posh/expensive mall in the Xinyi district).
  • Had the motorcycle back wheel “accident” where the wheel popped and we had to drag the motorcycle to the nearest repair shop. It didn’t help that it was very hot that day. Huhuhu we were sweating so much.
  • Finally watched a movie together in a movie theater. We went to Ximending and watched Godzilla. I wanted to watch X-Men but he chose Godzilla instead. Pffft! I must admit that it was pretty good and I understood it despite not having watched the previous movie or not having any knowledge about Godzilla other than he/it terrorizes cities. Apparently, he/it used to be evil but eventually he/it became good and now helps save cities from other monsters.
  • We also tried this new Korean fried chicken food stall called 達浪韓國炸雞 near the Shida night market. It was soo good! I actually wrote about it in our (with my sister) new blog, Chuadventures! We also tried 7-11s new and limited time ice cream flavor – chocolate! I still prefer vanilla.
  • I had the graduation ceremony, and my whole family came to Taiwan to attend. Yay! 
  • Timothy came back for the graduation (and also for his PhD interview) and gave me some goodies from Europe – mainly chocolates (Leonidas and Ritter Sport) and a jar of Speculoos! Goodies that will make me fat. Hahaha!
  • Spent the days going around Taipei with my family – went to Gongguan, Ximending, Taipei Main Station, Taipei 101, Ding Tai Fung, the famous braised pork rice restaurant in Yuanshan, a sukiyaki buffet in Edora Park, Costco, etc.
  • Met with my Korean friend SeulGi. I met her when I was still studying in CLC and we became close during the x months that we were classmates. I’m glad that we still keep in touch and we still see each other whenever she comes here. She had found this cute cafe called Aranzi Cafe (the chain is apparently from Japan) when a Korean blogger that she follows wrote about it, and so she wanted to try it out. My sister and her friend also went with us. It’s such a cute cafe and we were lucky that there was no one there when we went. My cousin says that there is usually a long line of people waiting to be seated and there’s a time limit for dining inside. Good thing there weren’t any lines or people waiting outside, which allowed us to stay there far longer than the allowable time.
  • We also met up with another of Tiff’s friends over at NTU and we went to a nearby dessert store for merienda. We were still sort of full around that time though. Then, we met up with Rhyan for “dinner” but Tiff and I were really full so we just ordered drinks.
  • Had my second and last SCM presentation, which went by really fast because I presented in English (the class is taught in Chinese and all my classmates are Taiwanese) so I spoke faster. Hahaha oops.
About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipino | University of the Philippines Diliman | BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University | MA International Development | Currently working in the logistics industry Gotta live like you're dying ♥ Believe in yourself and don't be afraid to seize opportunities Stay positive

Tell me what you think...

