First half of May 2014

Standard

Since we’ve apparently reached mid-May, I thought I should write a blog entry just because. Ugh, how does time fly by so fast? Seriously. I know I keep complaining about days and months passing by, but it’s only because that means I’m closer and closer to the future. A future that is blurry and unsure, because I really do not know what the future holds for me. What do I do after I graduate? Will I really graduate this semester? Will I be able to find a job? Will I stay here?

I know I was supposed to write about something, but since I find my short-term memory to be failing at times lately, I’ve already forgotten what I was supposed to write about. I recently sent out a Tweet saying my brain is like a sponge that has been wrung out almost completely. There are a lot of times when I’m at a loss for words – be it in writing or in speaking. There are so many materials to be written out (papers, reports, thesis, emails, etc.) and conversations to be made (in class, at restaurants, with friends, with hiring managers, etc.) that my word/sentence formation abilities have been affected. That is probably one of the main reasons I don’t really blog as often. I just feel like I can’t think or write anymore.

How has the first half of May been? Well, I sort of started doing yoga again. Milan invited me to her dorm room to do yoga. She watches this video on Youtube called Yoga Meltdown Level 1. Only the first level is available there so if you want to move up to level 2 or 3, you have to find torrents. Hahaha! I used my blender again, and this time I made an apple banana milkshake. Yum. Had an interview, which was a disappointment because they couldn’t (or wouldn’t?) meet the requirements. Biked from Jingmei to Shida and back, a total of around 10km. So tired! We went to Shida for dinner and then went back to Jingmei to go home. Had brunch at Kuya R’s place, where we had a mix of Filipino and American breakfast food. Best part was that they were all free hihihi. Attended my first Ted talk, which was this Shareable Cities Forum organized by TedxTaipei and the Ministry of Culture (or something like that). Most of the talks were interesting but there were some that bored me too. They also served free lunch and free snacks, and the whole forum was free, so yay! Had lunch with Milan, Garance, and her friend Paula after our HR class. Attended this Breakthrough Approach (it was like a coaching session) seminar over at the French Chamber of Commerce. It was an interesting experience because I didn’t know what it was, and now I do. I’m still not a firm believer of those things though. Had dinner with Jose after my SCM class. Milan was supposed to come with us but she had to (well, not really?) have dinner with her professor and classmates after their class so she wasn’t able to join us.

I also got my first statement of accomplishment from Coursera. Woo! I finally finished a course. I did the New Models of Business in Society course, and it was pretty easy. The quizzes were also not that hard, and that’s why I was able to finish the course. Wee! I also attended my first webinar, and it’s the #ZeroDeforestation one from Sustainable Brands. It wasn’t very long because they had the webinar as a sort of introduction to the conference that’s taking place next month (?) in the United States, so they didn’t talk/answer questions very long. Still, that was a new experience.

I know money should not be the most important thing that we live for, and it should not dictate how we live our lives, but sometimes, even if “learning experiences” are good, I still want to get at least some compensation for the time I spend on a project and the challenges that have come along with that. I’m not talking about academics because of course we are not paid for that. On the contrary, we are the ones who pay for our educations. In this case, I’m talking about translation jobs not from a friend. I would be more willing to help a friend out to translate something super short (not exceeding a page maybe? Or just a couple of sentences) but this one is for a professor and it’s for a web page containing more than 20, 000 Chinese characters.

There are times when we feel like we don’t know what we’re doing with our lives, when we see our friends’ lives and start wondering about the what-ifs, when we start comparing ourselves to others, when we begin to doubt ourselves… While these may be inevitable, I think what matters is that we don’t let ourselves become super affected or have those feelings and thoughts consume us. We should also know our worth, know that there is a plan for each and every one of us, and that things will fall into place for each one of us. Believe.

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipina | University of the Philippines Diliman - BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University - MA International Development | Working in the freight forwarding/logistics industry Learning to believe in myself more and not being afraid to seize opportunities ♥

Tell me what you think...

