September 2013

Standard

I got back to Taipei in September.

Since I took a Cebu Pacific flight coming back here, and since we were delayed, I got here at past 2 in the morning, if I remember correctly. There would be a bus from the airport to the city at 3AM, and then from there, I would take a cab home. Eventually though, there was this cab driver who couldn’t look for a passenger and he was gonna go back to the city, so he offered to bring me there for 500. Wow! If I had taken the bus + cab, it would have cost me 400+. It wasn’t much of a difference so I agreed. I kinda feel bad that he didn’t find a passenger and he went all the way to the airport for nothing, but well… it would have cost 1, 200 normally from the airport to the city if you take the cab.

After a couple of days organizing my stuff and getting back into rhythm, I went to Kaohsiung to visit le boy. I spent a couple of days there. We ate, played board games, watched movies, and we even met up with my classmate and friend Jose for coffee and board games!

School started and I’m taking 4 classes this semester. Add to that this conference paper I’m working on (but I’m really too lazy to write), thesis stuff, this volunteering thing, and my social life of course (haha!), and that equals to a busy first semester! It’s gonna be my last year in Taiwan (or not, depends if I find a job) so I better make it count! There were times when I would ask myself if I’m really doing something worthwhile and useful. Sometimes, I still feel incompetent and so much of an introvert especially compared to some of my classmates, but I just remind myself not to compare myself with others, and that things happen for a reason. I really hope things will turn out good for me in the future.

Other stuff that happened this month were: I attended this talk about digital activism by David Burstein, I had a haircut, I celebrated moon festival twice (once with my relatives in Linkou, and the other with my friends), I read the Elixir trilogy by Hilary Duff, I downloaded the iOS7 update and got a little bit of a scare when it didn’t wanna download and my iPad’s screen was just in recovery mode (thank goodness for forums with information that work!), I had brunch with Milan and Yuching at Mini Diner, I had brunch again with Eric, Milan, Timothy, and David at this shabu-shabu place near school, I got pasalubongs from Richelle (from Korea!), Oumie (from USA!), and from Monika (from Europe!), and I had lunch and a study session with Ene at SoHo Pasta and then NTU library.

That’s it!

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipina | University of the Philippines Diliman - BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University - MA International Development | Working in the freight forwarding/logistics industry Learning to believe in myself more and not being afraid to seize opportunities ♥

Tell me what you think...

