3 months

Standard

Oops, looks like I pretty much neglected you. I’m sorry for that! You’re about to turn 5 years old soon, how surreal is that! I can’t believe it’s been almost 5 years since I started blogging here. Time sure flies!

I’ve not been blogging much lately because again, life has pretty much taken over. In a nutshell, below is a list of what’s been happening to me since 2013 started. That’s another thing – I still pretty much can’t get over the fact that we’re now on the 3rd month of the new year. Yikes!

January

The first semester of my first year at graduate school officially ended. I got pretty good grades, so it’s all good. I also applied for a Japanese visa, and since it was my first time, it was such a hassle because they kept wanting more and more documents. Tss! On a happy note though, I was able to go to Japan to visit Tiffyyy!!!

February

I was in Japan for almost a month, and in that time, Tiff and I were able to do A LOT of things! It was also my first time experiencing temperatures as cold as those. Brr! We went to a lot of tourist-y places, and I’m listing all the places here for remembrance — Kashiwa, Asakusa temple, Oshiage Skytree, Odaiba, Tokyo Metropolitan Art Space, Nishiguchi Park, University of Tokyo Hongo Campus, Tokyo Municipal Government Building, Yoyogi Park, Meiji Shrine, Shibuya, Hachiko shrine, Shinjuku, Omotesando Hills, Harajuku, Tokyo Tower, Tsukiji, Ginza, Tokyo Opera Place, Disneyland, Yokohama Sea Paradise, Hakuba. We also celebrated Indian Republic Day, Australian Day, ate a lot of sushi, ate with a lot of her friends, shopped and shopped, and even went skiing! Wee, snowww! We were also able to successfully ski down the beginner slopes, so that was cool!

I came back to Taiwan and spring semester started! I’m taking more subjects this sem compared to last sem, so that means heavier load and more expensive tuition and credit fees! My subjects are: Strategic Communication and Cultural Diplomacy; Risk Analysis and Management; Population, Migration, and Development; and International Political Economy. I hope I can do this, and that I learn a lot in the process, of course! I’ve also been “hired” by my ex-professor to be one of his TAs. Yay! The class is going to be in Chinese though, so I’m nervous about that, but well, I’ve never backed down from a challenge. It doesn’t hurt to try, right?

I also went to Kaohsiung for a week to spend some time with my boyfriend, and to explore Kaohsiung at the same time. I also met the family, haha! I’m also gonna list down the places we went to — Ruifeng night market 瑞峰夜市,  New Chueh Chiang Business District 新堀江商圈, Cultural Center 文化中心, Central Park 中央公園, Urban Spotlight 城市光廊,Japanese buffet at the Palais Chine Hotel 翰品酒店 日本料理,Love River 愛河,Tainan 台南 (Cigu Salt Mountains 七股鹽山, Black-faced Spoonbill Reserve 黑面琵鷺賞鳥亭休息區, Anping 安平), Shou Shan Zoo 壽山動物園, Lotus Lake 蓮池潭, Kaohsiung Museum of Fine Arts 市立美術館, Qijin 旗津 (Qijin lighthouse 高雄燈塔, Qijin beach 旗津海水浴場).

March

School’s starting to get pretty hectic but it’s still manageable. It’s just a matter of proper time management.

I went through a crisis because I saw a lot of my friends who are in other countries (English-speaking countries) getting a lot of opportunities and thought to myself that Chinese is really difficult and I don’t know if I’m gonna be able to really feel comfortable spending the rest of my life (or a pretty big part of my life) living in a Chinese-speaking country. Hmmm, well.

I’m trying to participate more – like with the Carnegie essay-writing competition, and with the internship thing. I just don’t know how those things will go, but at least I’m trying.

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipina | University of the Philippines Diliman - BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University - MA International Development | Working in the freight forwarding/logistics industry Learning to believe in myself more and not being afraid to seize opportunities ♥

Tell me what you think...

