October so far

Standard

October 2-17, 2012

  • I ride the Green 1 bus to school, and recently, I’ve noticed that there are new buses. The ones now cater to disabled people, so there is more space, and there’s a platform so that it’s easier for those in wheelchairs to get inside the bus. A downside is that the seats are now more cramped, so it’s so much of a hassle to sit down/get up. Oh well!
  • Swimming with Lorraine
  • Danshui and Shilin night market – a day of walking and walking and walking…
  • Dinner at Swensen, and then Eslite bookstore with relatives (Xiamen relatives came to Taiwan for a week!)
  • Grand Hotel, Shilin, Xiaoyoukeng at Yangmingshan, dinner at Banqiao with relatives (Xiamen relatives came to Taiwan for a week!)
  • Ximen with Antoine, Albert, and Roxane
  • Wufenpu with cousins and Enelyn. Yay, shopping!

  • Taipei Main Station and Ximen with Lorraine and Christian. We ate at Coco Curry House, and then walked to Ximen to look around. We also tried out this Swedish pear cider. Not bad. Before we met up, I came from the Manila Economic and Cultural Office here in Taipei to renew my passport. I don’t like the guy who took my picture, because he has a clear dislike for Chinese people. Tsk, why are you even here if you don’t like Chinese? UGHHH. Therefore, my picture turned out so bad. Huhu oh well! Since I still had time before our meet-up, I went to 228 Peace Park. After taking pictures, I sat down and studied. Hee.

  • Starbucks (buy one take one) with classmates because we didn’t have our afternoon class. We went to the field after buying our drinks and just lazed around. At night, Mahdi and I went jogging. Then, we ate at this sushi conveyor belt restaurant. Since I wasn’t really that hungry, and I had to eat at home, I only ate a plate of salmon sushi (2 pieces). Yummy! Also, the elevator by the Art and Culture Center is already operational! Woo, so cool!

  • It was Christian’s last day here in Taiwan, so we all went out. We went to Smoothie House for mango snowflake ice, and then went to Ding Tai Fung for xiao long bao. After that, we walked to Shida and played board games at Caca City (which was a bit hard to find because it was hidden behind this store in this alley. Finally, we went to Shida night market for dinner and for the night market, of course! Since we were all so full, we walked to Gongguan and then went our separate ways.

  • More books to read! Yaaaay. This is me trying to be positive. Thank goodness I only have 3 classes this term, and that they’re all in English. I don’t know how I’m going to survive if I have to study all these in Chinese! The books above aren’t actually part of our reading list for class, but I believe that it’s not enough to only read the class readings, I should also look at other references to see other viewpoints and stuff. There are a lot of things to read for class, and a lot of things to research. These things are all time-consuming so I really have to focus on managing my time properly. I also have to sharpen my “speed-reading while still understanding what I’ve read” skill. Haha!
  • Qualitative Research Methods (aka Statistics for the Social Sciences), International Health and Environment, and International Relations Theory, let’s do this!!!
About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipina | University of the Philippines Diliman - BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University - MA International Development | Working in the freight forwarding/logistics industry Learning to believe in myself more and not being afraid to seize opportunities ♥

Tell me what you think...

