August 6-7, 2012

Standard

 

Some of the more… emotional things that I have learned over the past few weeks:

  • You shouldn’t let yourself be affected by people who don’t care about you.
  • Happiness is fleeting, so enjoy it while it’s in your reach.
  • I think I’ve understood a bit better what the big deal about liking, really liking (maybe even loving? Don’t get me wrong, I’m not talking about myself okay), someone is. Despite all the paranoia, vulnerability, and neediness, there are moments of clarity, random and spontaneous laughs, surprise and giddiness.
  • I truly believe that everything happens for a reason. Had it not been for you asking her to join us for lunch, I wouldn’t be able to hear such words come out of your mouth. Thanks for that.
  • I don’t know why some people choose to continuously or frequently hang out with people they don’t like. Maybe it’s just me but I find it weird. If you don’t like someone, and you tell others that you don’t like that person, then stop hanging out with him/her! You have other friends, okay.

My uncle, Roxane, and I went to the computer something trade show (?) yesterday. I “won” earphones (cheap ones at that, I might add) from this activity, and then we walked around to look for an external hard drive. I had been planning on buying a 1TB hard drive and since it’s supposed to be cheaper at trade shows, I wanted to buy one. We passed by Toshiba’s booth, and may I just say that if you (a company) want to make a sale, then you better make sure your sales person/company representative isn’t such a jerk. I was asking the person if the hard drive is compatible with a Mac, because you know, not everything is. You know what he said to me? He said (in Chinese of course, and with a smug face) something along the lines of, “What? It’s a USB! It works with everything. It’s compatible with everything!” !@$@$%@#$!@# I wanted to smack him right then and there. I said, “No. Not everything is compatible with Mac.” He then asked another person and that person said that the product I was asking about is in fact not compatible with a Mac. The jerk then said, “Ohh, it’s not compatible with a Mac. But this other product is, blah blah…” I replied, “SEE! TOLD YOU SO! Thanks but no thanks.” Then, we left.

We kept walking around and I suddenly saw a Western Digital booth. Yay! My current (or, ex) hard drive (320GB) is a WD one as well, so I know how it works and all. I bought a 1TB WD My Passport Essential SE hard drive! Wee! Expenses just keep on coming. Tsk! Oh well.

Today, I finally finished reading Amy Chua’s Day of Empire: How Hyperpowers Rise to Global Dominance — And Why They Fall. I also edited my cousin’s translations. Our department head also emailed us an information pamphlet so I’m a bit more aware of how the next 4 years are going to pan out. There are 4 core subjects: International Relations Theory, International Political Economy, Quantitative Research Methods, and M.A. Thesis Writing. Aside from that, we have to choose from 2 tracks: International Development or International Conflict Management. After looking at the subjects, I think I’m leaning more towards the former. I also think it’s going to be of more use in my country. My tentative subjects for first term are: Human Rights, Humanitarian Aid & Nations, Quantitative Research Methods, and International Relations Theory. We can take a maximum of 12 units per term, so I’m still thinking if I’m going to take International Environment & Health this term or next term. Maybe I’ll just take 9 units this first term (for cheaper tuition too! Haha! We have to pay more than 4500php per credit, aside from the tuition fee.) since according to some friends who are also taking their masters’ in the same university (but in another program), 12 units is already very hard. Hmmmmm.

Okay, that’s it! Off to do more homework.

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipina | University of the Philippines Diliman - BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University - MA International Development | Working in the freight forwarding/logistics industry Learning to believe in myself more and not being afraid to seize opportunities ♥

Tell me what you think...

