The weekend of week 30

Standard

August 3-5, 2012

  • One of my grade school/high school friends, Jen, has recently moved to Taiwan for good. When I heard about it, I decided to message her even if we hadn’t seen each other for a long time (she moved to Thailand when we were in first year), telling her that I was also in Taiwan, and that we could meet up if she ever got bored or something. She was so happy to find out that she has a friend here that she immediately asked if I wanted to meet up. We went to Dante Coffee for lunch and we just talked and talked. Hihi! Here’s to more “coffee dates” and hang-outs.
  • Richelle and I went to Gongguan to check out a store’s closing sale. The store’s gonna move to another location, so they were selling shoes at a cheap(er) price! After buying shoes, we continued walking around and then we saw this newly-opened store that was offering a 10% discount on their clothes for the first 3 days of operation. We bought clothes! Oops, I did it again!
  • My friend (and classmate) invited me to go to the Salvador Dalí “Mind of Genius” exhibit with her, and I asked Richelle if she wanted to come with me. I found the exhibit to be interesting. Dalí is considered to be one of Spain’s 3 greats, along with Pablo Picasso and Joan Miró. I’ve already seen some of Picasso’s works at Museo Reina Sofia (Madrid), and now that I’ve seen Dalí’s works, next up should be Miró. I hope I get to see his works someday.
  • One of the characteristics of Dalí’s works is that he mixes dreams with reality. He is a part of the surrealism movement. The exhibit was divided into 5 main themes – Time (時間), Mythology (宗教與神話), Spellbound (意亂情迷), Daum Glass and Golden Objects (琉璃與金飾), and Surrealistic Furniture (向流行致敬).
  • Here are some of the things I copied off the texts on the walls while I was walking around: (Time) Dalí believes that everyone is controlled by time, and that only art is eternal beauty. (Mythology) Each dream could become a meaningful psychological structure and plays an important role in life of consciousness. (Spellbound) Is it we who are looking at his painting or the eyeballs in the painting that is gazing at us? 究竟是我們在觀看這幅畫作,還是畫作中的眼球在儗視我們? (Daum Glass and Golden Objects) The special quality of glass can perfectly represent the “ideas of distortion and deformation.” Too bad we weren’t allowed to take pictures inside. The exhibit runs until September 30, so you can still catch it at CKS Memorial Hall if you like.
  • After the exhibit, Richelle and I went to Taipei Main to pass time. We had brunch. Later on in the afternoon, we met up with the rest of the family and we had afternoon snack/early dinner at this vegetarian restaurant. We ate there because one of my aunts gave us gift certificates.
  • Fun weekend!
Tell me what you think...

