Grad school

Standard

There comes a time when we question the decisions we’ve made that have led to this point. This is one of those times. Am I even ready to be in grad school? Do I have what it takes to be here? Probably. Hopefully. I wouldn’t even be here if not, right?

One of the administrators from my future graduate school sent us an email telling us that we can start looking at subjects and schedules for first semester. It was one of the worst decisions I made, because I just scared myself even more. I’m actually half-scared half-excited with what’s in store for grad school, because I know that I’m gonna be learning a lot of stuff, and I’m also gonna be meeting a lot of (?) people, but I’m scared because I have no background whatsoever in the field I want to pursue. I also have not much work experience. I’m afraid that professors will have a lot of expectations from us, and that my classmates will all be experienced and knowledgeable in the field. Hmmm.

One of the required subjects for first semester is “quantitative methods”, which is basically Statistics for the Social Sciences. The last time I had statistics was back in high school. I’ve already forgotten most of what I’ve learned, mainly because I hadn’t had to use it when I was an undergrad, and also because I was a Language major hence there was no need for statistics in our field. The professor wrote in the syllabus, and I quote, “…” Scaryyy.

I spent most of that night just looking at the subjects and professor’s profiles and stuff. The next day, I went to the lib to check some books out. I have to start reading up if I want to not get totally left behind in class. Haha! Here’s my summer reading list:


I have a little over a month to finish (or at least try) all of these. Good luck to me!

As of this writing, I have already finished reading Amy Chua’s World on Fire. It’s actually a pretty good read, and I learned a lot from it. Next up is Day of Empire. Yeah, it’s obvious that I’m an Amy Chua fan, no?

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipina | University of the Philippines Diliman - BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University - MA International Development | Working in the freight forwarding/logistics industry Learning to believe in myself more and not being afraid to seize opportunities ♥

Tell me what you think...

