Alishan 阿里山

Standard

March 31-April 1, 2012

Alishan 阿里山 is famous for its sunrise, and when the bus company offered cheaper tickets, my cousins and I decided to go. We left Taipei at around 9PM and arrived in Alishan at 3AM. I watched the final installment of Harry Potter on the way there. I wasn’t able to sleep much, probably because my body clock is wired to fall asleep late. Upon arrival, we fell in line for the train tickets. The first trip was at 3:40AM. It takes 30 minutes from Alishan to the top of Chushan 祝山. It was so cold! Good thing there were food stalls! I ordered French toast and soup. Yum!

The sun was set to rise at 6:05AM so we still had time to kill. We just sat around talking/trying to sleep. Finally, when it was around 5AM, this “guide” started talking and saying random trivia about Alishan, the sunrise, etc. At 6:05AM, the sun rose! I never thought I would actually go somewhere to watch the sunrise. Cool experience!

After watching the sunrise, we walked around and then headed back down to Alishan. We then walked around the Alishan National Forest Recreation Area (around 4 hours), took lots of pictures (pretty sakura flowers and other flowers such as magnolias, dandelions, etc), and headed back to the bus and back to Taipei! It was a quick (and tiring) trip but I think it’s something worth doing! I’m glad I was able to experience it with my cousins!

Alishan collage :)

Tell me what you think...

