Hualien 花蓮, Day 1!

Standard

March 17, 2012

I’ve been thinking of going to Hualien (Hualian in pinyin) for quite some time now but I didn’t want to go alone, so I joined this field trip organized by NCCU’s Student Ambassadors. None of my friends/acquaintances were going so I was a bit nervous about being with people I don’t know. That didn’t stop me from having fun and making friends though! :)

Clockwise from left: A picture I took on the way to Hualien (when I wasn't too dizzy), lunch picture, Taroko National Park, Dageli (Dajili) tribe restaurant

We passed through this narrow highway (yeah) with lots of twists and turns. Since I’ve always had motion sickness/vertigo, I slept the entire way. There was a time when I was so dizzy that I wanted to puke though. Tsk. We had lunch at this tribe restaurant, and then we went to Taroko National Park 太魯閣國家公園. The park is HUGE! There wasn’t enough time to explore the WHOLE area so we just explored Changchun Shrine 長春祠 and Swallow Grotto 燕子口. After that, we went to Qixingtan beach 七星潭. Swimming wasn’t allowed so we just sat there, looked out into the ocean, and felt the wind in our hairs. HAHA!

Clockwise from left: Tour guide, Changchun Shrine, picture with Linda, Changchun Shrine marker

Pictures of Swallow Grotto, Goi, Linda, and I, and Qixingtan beach

Pictures at Qixingtan beach and exploring Hualien at night

Checked in at Fortuna hotel, rested for a while, and headed out! We went to 2 different night markets, and we also bought some of the local delicacies to take with us back to Taipei. Yummy food!

Pictures of/at Hualien's night market

Pictures at Hualien's night market and of our hotel room

It’s always good to be surrounded by people who share the same interests/likes as you – and for this day particularly, those would have to be food, photography, and conversation! :)

Tell me what you think...

