The week after the winter break

Standard

It’s back to school for me.

Last January 30, I met up with my cousins Richelle and Roxane at the National Museum of History for the Disney exhibit. It’s entitled “DREAMS COME TRUE: The Art of Disney’s Classic Fairy Tales (美夢成真:迪士尼經典動畫藝術)”. Too bad we weren’t allowed to take pictures inside. The exhibit was a bit pricey (for me at least, because I’m currently saving up for a couple of future trips) at 180 NT (PHP 261) but it was worth it, I think.

We were able to see a lot of early sketches (actual sketches, back when digital animation wasn’t “in” yet) and other related materials from animations such as Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, Tangled, The Princess and the Frog. I was looking for Mulan, because it was one of my favorite Disney films, but they didn’t have it. We also saw some of the studio pieces like their early animators’ desks, paints, etc.

There’s a new MRT line (the Xinzhuang 新莊 line) and since it’s new, it’s still free to ride that line. Therefore, my cousins and I went to Liu He night market 六合夜市, which according to them is one of the most authentic local night markets. Night markets such as Shi Lin night market 士林夜市, Shi Da night market 師大夜市, are considered markets that cater more to foreigners (also because of their popularity). This one however is one that only a handful of foreigners go to (probably those who have already lived here or those like me who have local friends/relatives).

We stayed a long time in this arts store, looking at the rows and rows of stickers that they have. Richelle is addicted to stickers, and she has shared this addiction with us. I ended up buying 2 sets of stickers. They’re so cute! This is in attempts of making my planner more creative this year. HAHA! Then, we walked around the night market and bought some food along the way. We bought milk shakes from this famous store there. Yummy!

After class on January 31, I met up with them at Ximending 西門町 to get a haircut. My side-swept bangs were already long and all over the place, so I decided to get China doll bangs (which as of this writing have also been a bit hard to manage and all over the place, pfft!) just to try it out. Then, we went around Taipei Main Station looking for some things that they were going to bring to the Super Junior concert they were going to be attending.

There was also a Cebu Pacific seat sale so I booked a flight back home. I’ll be going home during the last week of May.

It’s February! Wow, can you believe that the first month of 2012 is now over? It went by so fast. It was a happy month though, wee! I met up with Merry the other day over milk tea and dumplings. We just talked about the stuff going on in our lives, and we also talked about some of our mutual friends. The next day, she came with me to NCCU because she wanted to check the school out. After class, we went to her sister’s house (where she’s staying) and just lounged around, watching TV and eating. When her nephew Riley came home, we also played with him. He’s so cute, and he’s light as well! I was surprised by his lightness because I was used to heavy kids (being that Ahia Shin’s kids are all fat! LOL).

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipino | University of the Philippines Diliman | BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University | MA International Development | Currently working in the logistics industry Gotta live like you're dying ♥ Believe in yourself and don't be afraid to seize opportunities Stay positive

Tell me what you think...

