It’s Christmas after all!

Standard

What is the meaning of Christmas? I put that out as a rhetorical question. As we grow older, this is the question we’d most likely hear during the holidays. When we were younger, we always looked forward to Christmas because aside from all the celebrations (parties left and right), we would get a ton of gifts!

Starting a couple of years ago until now, the gifts have become less, and Christmas has become more about the children – the next generation. My Christmas albums over the past few years have all been saying things like, “It’s a children’s Christmas once again.” Not that I’m complaining though.

This year is my first time celebrating Christmas (yes, I’m overusing the word!) away from my family and friends, and away from the Philippines. Since I’m in Taiwan (a country that’s really not so big on the celebrations), I didn’t expect a whole lot. Last Friday though, our Korean classmates surprised the class with some chips, cookies, and drinks. We ate and drank while discussing, and I was happy. My Dominican Republic friend even came to our class and gave out Christmas bookmarks/cards and pineapple cake. Aww! Indeed, the small things count.

After class, I went to Danshui to meet up with some of the scholars from the Philippines. We went to this hotpot place to eat dinner, and then to Gerick’s house for dessert, karaoke, and exchanging of gifts! Fun fun night.

Yesterday, Richelle and I were supposed to go to Longshan Temple, but we woke up at around 2:30PM (LOL!) so we weren’t able to go. We just waited for Roxane to come back home from school, and then we went to Ximen to have our bangs cut. We also bought some stuff, and then headed to Minquan W. Road (Filipino community) for dinner. The Filipinos there always give out free food on the 24th, so we were able to eat bihon (rice vermicelli), sotanghon (cellophane noodles/Chinese vermicelli), bread, and hot chocolate.

We continued walking around the area, and then we headed to the church to hear mass. After a couple of hours after arriving home, Richelle started dyeing my hair. Hee. We chose this dark auburn color. I don’t know if it’s visible though. I think it sort of is – especially under the light (as usual). And… I don’t know what happened but my bangs have decided to have a life of their own. Oh well!

Today, we had a yummy Christmas lunch of salad (vegetable salad and apple and shrimp salad), roast chicken, pork, squid balls, and soup.

I still have to write this essay for class, and I also have to study for our chapter test tomorrow, but since I’m in the holidays mood (cause we would always be on holiday break around this time), I’m too lazy to start doing them! I’ll also be meeting a classmate later, so yeah, I’ll just rush through the homework. Hee.

The first picture is that of 湯圓, which is this Chinese food traditionally eaten here in Taiwan during 冬至, or the winter solstice.

Merry Christmas everyone! :)

 

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipina | University of the Philippines Diliman - BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University - MA International Development | Working in the freight forwarding/logistics industry Learning to believe in myself more and not being afraid to seize opportunities ♥

One response »

  1. Pingback: Valentine’s and the day after « C'est moi

Tell me what you think...

