December 17, 2011

Standard

Nothing out of the ordinary happened the past week, hence the lack of updates. I’ve just been going to school, studying, going online, reading a book, same old same old… I guess something “new” that’s happened is that it’s slowly getting cold here in Taiwan. It’s sooo cold!!! I’m not used to this type of weather, having lived in Manila, Philippines my whole life!

The lowest degree the past week was 12deg. According to my uncle though, 14deg in Taiwan is equivalent to 8deg in China. I dunno how or why but following this logic, it was 8deg last Thursday, and it was 6deg yesterday! Brr!

More random thoughts this past week:

Why do I feel like your questions are getting dumber and dumber?

Someone told me that he thinks I have Singaporean qualities. I don’t know if this is a good thing or a bad thing. He said that it’s because he thinks I’m a serious person (especially when it comes to academics) and I want things to be organized? I really don’t know. Lol.

How do you react properly to someone telling you far-fetched stories?

Apparently, there’s a Christmas tree in our university (NCCU). I took a picture of it recently and I’m gonna upload it soon!

A neighbor/friend asked me recently if I’m happy with my life, and I said yes. Although nothing special is happening in my life, I’m pretty much satisfied/happy. He said that he likes my personality because he feels that his life is boring and that he wants something more. For example, when he’s with his family, he wants to be somewhere else. When he’s somewhere else, he wants to be with his family. He’s never fully content with his life. I think it’s really just about finding and appreciating the small and simple things. I can’t really explain it but I can really say that even if my life sounds boring most of the time, I’m satisfied. Of course, sometimes I wish more good things would happen but overall, I’m pretty happy. :)

In more… disappointing news, should I even say that I’m a Spanish major? That I graduated with a degree in Spanish? I can’t even talk properly with some of the Latin Americans I “know” here. Most of the time, I stutter and I feel awkward. I know I’ve said this a million times but I really have to practice my conversational skills. Siiiigh.

I took the pilot test for the Master level earlier today, and I knew from the start that I wasn’t gonna pass. It was the highest level and I knew that I haven’t reached that level yet. Hihi. I didn’t know a lot of words but guess what, I only lacked 5 points to pass. I’m such a good guesser. LOL! I only really signed up for the test because of the free bookstore GCs.

Going to Wulai tomorrow with some classmates. We’re gonna go hiking! Ooh.

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipino | University of the Philippines Diliman | BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University | MA International Development | Currently working in the logistics industry Gotta live like you're dying ♥ Believe in yourself and don't be afraid to seize opportunities Stay positive

4 responses »

Tell me what you think...

