October 13, 2011

Standard

One of my classmates dyed his hair reddish brown. Paired with glasses, I think the whole look suits him. Better than how he looked before, I mean.

We had our 1-on-1 oral exam with our teacher today. While we waited for our turn, we (my classmates and I) were sitting by the couches and just talking to each other. Looking at my class, I can say that I get along with everyone. There are some people I’m closer to, some people I prefer not talking to, but overall, I don’t have any strong negative feelings about anyone.

I know that there are times when we are quick to judge other people, but only after really getting to know them do we realize that we may be wrong. Other times, we may be totally right about our judgment but being wrong is totally better. That’s what I think. These past few days, I’ve been seeing *braggart* in a different light. Yeah, there are still times when I’d be irritated with the words coming out of his mouth, but I guess in some ways, I’m slowly understanding him more. One of the reasons why he can be such an ass in class is because he is insecure about himself. The ass part is one of his ways of coping… deflecting? I say this because there were times in class when he’d want to explain something but he was stuttering so the teacher was helping him out. When he sat down, he was a bit defeated and he was sort of muttering under his breath, “scolding” himself because he stuttered and all. Also, while we were talking today, he paid me a compliment. Yes, I can be shallow. He told me that he thinks that when I speak English, it’s 標準. This translated means an official, standard. I’m assuming this means that my pronunciation/way of speaking (?) is spot-on! HAHAHA! I feel flattered because I don’t have a lot of self-confidence when it comes to a lot of things – like talking to foreigners in English. I don’t have an “American accent” so I sometimes feel awkward. Silly me!

When it was my turn for the 1-on-1, it wasn’t that bad. It was fun because my teacher and I kept laughing. Although, I wasn’t able to use a lot of the vocabs that we’ve learned in class, simply because I haven’t incorporated them in my vocab list. There are some words that I can use, but others seem unnatural for me. We’ll have to work on that.

It’s funny how 柏木 and 智慧 have the same birthday, and when 柏木 found out about it, he said, “It’s destiny.” So now we’re telling 智慧 to consider 柏木 as her special someone. It’s all just a joke, of course, because we know that she has someone else.

He also asked me when my birthday is, and when I told him that it’s on the 30th of December, he said, “we can celebrate your birthday on the 31st, when we go to 101 for the New Year’s fireworks.” I was pretty surprised because there are no plans that all of us are going to celebrate together.

When everyone was done with their 1-on-1s, we had our chapter test. I got a 100 and a 95! After class, Maria asked me if I wanted to have lunch with her. I like how we were able to talk about a lot of things. One of the things she told me was how she thinks I have a high Mandarin level. She thinks that I’m one of the best in class. Haha, again, I was flattered. I guess all I really need is self-confidence. I wonder why I don’t believe in myself as much as I should. Hmm.

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipino | University of the Philippines Diliman | BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University | MA International Development | Currently working in the logistics industry Gotta live like you're dying ♥ Believe in yourself and don't be afraid to seize opportunities Stay positive

6 responses »

  1. Once you get used to talking to foreigners and being around them, the “American accent” will come. Awwww. cute! You guys are going to celebrate new year’s together! Parang family lang. He just assumed that everyone would go together. Don’t only surround yourself with people who compliment you ah. hihihi. And braggart must be that way kasi overdefensive siya!!!

    Like

    • Pfft! I am this way because of you! >:( Hahaha! But whatever, I don’t need no American accent! I speak just fine! Teehee :s I know! Let’s see kung matutuloy nga na lahat ay pupunta together.. di kasi uso dito ang texting/calls so ang hirap talaga! In any case, I’m going to 101 din talaga with Richelle and Roxane on the 31st cos that’s what they do every year! :) Of course not! Pero sila lang nasa paligid ko now kasi kaklase ko sila.. gets? Next term new set of people! Yeah, yun nga eh.. Narealize rin namin so fine mej we understand him na. 18 pa lang din kasi so siguro mej isip bata defensive shiz pa! (Yuck feeling old eh noh!)

      Like

      • Paanong because of me?! Gaga!!! Wala naman ako sinabi ever na you don’t speak fine eh :| Hindi uso ang texting/calls?! Since when? Parang natatandaan ko sina richelle laging nagpphone?! OMG. 18 PA LANG SIYA?! TAPOS INAAWAY MO NA?! Alam mo naman emotional maturity ng teens noh!!!

        Like

        • Huhuhu meron kaya!! Such a bitch!! Nope, hindi :( kasi mahal eh! Uso sa kanila kasi may plans sila na call all you can blah. Like yung kay Roxane, dun sa network nila, meron na group of 4 tapos unli calls to each other.. so siya at barkada niya (including Richelle I think), ay nakaganun. Gets?

          Mahal ng text ditooo!! Grabe lang talaga. For them ok lang kasi di nila naexperience ang cheapness nung sa Pinas! Ev since kasi dito sila so for them, norm yun! So okay lang sa kanila magtext text kahit mahal!

          Yup! Ugh, he has to grow up!!! Hahaha nung ganung age naman ako hindi naman ako immature pa noh! Pati yung iba kong lalaking classmates na ganung age now (19-20) ang immature paaa! GRABE LANG.

          Like

Tell me what you think...

