October 8, 2011

Standard

Since I didn’t have anything planned for the afternoon, I met up with my classmates at the MRT Gongguan station (公館捷運站) and we rode bus 208 (if I’m not mistaken) to the Martyr’s Shrine (忠烈祠). Even if I don’t have a high affinity (?) for the military, I didn’t mind going to this place because I’m the kind of person who wants to see different things anyway. Side note: On the way there, we saw these military tanks on the road! They were probably on their way to the CKS Memorial Hall to prepare for the 10-10 celebrations.

We walked around the area and looked at some of the paintings on the wall. After a while, the guards’ march and weapon exhibition (I don’t really know what it’s called) happened so we were able to witness that. It was pretty interesting for me because it reminded me so much of my sister’s cadet training days! Hello Tiffy!

Shilin night market was nearby so my classmates decided to go. I had been planning to go because Ainna and I would be meeting there so I tagged along with my classmates. It was a cool and windy day so we decided to walk. It took us almost an hour, I think. We passed by the riverside park and this other park on our way there.

Based from what happened, I think it’s better to go to a night market with close friends or people you’re really comfortable with. I mean this in the food eating aspect. They didn’t want to share food so they easily got full and they weren’t able to try a lot of food anymore.

Long story short, Ainna and I didn’t meet up because she didn’t call me. Richelle and Roxane came along and we walked around. I was also able to eat my favorite takoyaki balls with wasabi (章魚燒跟芥末) and cheesy mashed potato (馬鈴薯跟奶酪)! There were a lot of things I wanted to buy but because I don’t have spending money yet (oh December please come sooner), I didn’t buy anything.

Other random thoughts: how can you say that you’re not chauvinists and that men and women are equal when you think that homosexuals shouldn’t exist or make out in public? Contradicting statements. Right? Hmm.

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipina | University of the Philippines Diliman - BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University - MA International Development | Working in the freight forwarding/logistics industry Learning to believe in myself more and not being afraid to seize opportunities ♥

Tell me what you think...

