30-Day Creative Writing Challenge, Day 2

Standard
What I Worry About
What do you worry about? Describe something that worries you. Why does it worry you? How is it affecting your life? How will you be able to get over it?
In life, worrying is a normal emotion that each person may feel at some point or another. When I was in high school, and even in college, I used to worry about a lot of things. I would worry about my exams, my papers, my projects, etc. I would worry about being accepted by other people, in terms of my personality as well as my ideas.
Now that I’ve graduated from college, I can’t really say that I don’t worry anymore. I still do. I worry about things such as my future. I’m currently in Taiwan on a scholarship from the Ministry of Education. I’m taking my Master’s in International Affairs next year. I actually do not know if I am prepared and capable enough to be taking my Master’s degree but who was I to turn down this chance, right?
People have been asking me what I plan to do with my life after this scholarship, where I plan to work and what I plan to do with my degree. To be honest, I actually do not know. I haven’t thought that far along in my life. I have some options but I haven’t really narrowed them down yet.
As to how my worries are affecting my life, I don’t really think they are. Not in a big way at least. Even though I worry, I try not to let my anxieties get the better of me. I still take each day one at a time. I may not have all that much confidence in myself, but I don’t let this hinder me from doing the things I want to do, or the things that I have to do. Worrying is a part of life but it should not interfere with our living, our being.
Vocab buildup:
  • worry – anxiety
  • plan – thought, strategy, idea
  • option – choice, alternative
  • confidence – belief, conviction
  • hinder – interfere, obstruct, impede
About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipino | University of the Philippines Diliman | BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University | MA International Development | Currently working in the logistics industry Gotta live like you're dying ♥ Believe in yourself and don't be afraid to seize opportunities Stay positive

Tell me what you think...

