September 8-9, 2011

Standard

Hodgepodge of stuff

Our class has become big in terms of class size. The limit of students per class is normally 10 but we’re at 12 so far. They held the teacher’s meeting last Friday to finalize the class divisions/people in each class/room assignments. Before they held the meeting, our teacher asked us what we wanted to do about our class’ situation. We were pretty much okay with whatever they decide to do. On the one hand, it would be better to divide the class so that there would be less people per class and the teacher could focus more on each student – also giving the student more opportunities to talk and stuff. On the other hand, our class has pretty much gotten to know each other better this week, and we’ve created a sort of camaraderie with each other, so we don’t know how to divide the class. Oh well, let’s wait and see what the teachers have decided on come next week.

I’ve sort of fallen into a pattern during my first week here (and probably for the weeks to come). I go to school, attend class, go to the reading room/library to do homework, go home, eat lunch, surf the Net, take a nap, wake up and continue doing homework/surfing the Net, eat dinner, do more stuff, go to sleep. Rinse and repeat. I won’t really have money (I currently owe my uncles cos they lent me money for my tuition fee, ARC application, books, other expenses, etc.) until December or January so I can’t spend much! Teehee. My happy crush has also fallen into a pattern. He’s always there before his class (I’m assuming that he has the 12:10PM class because he always leaves the reading room at around that time) so I always get to see him. Hihihi.

I know it’s not okay to generalize and I don’t know how American and European teaching is, but so far, based on my encounters with people from those places, it seems as if they want to be coddled. They want to feel like they’re important. They’re not used to the teachers that we have here in Taiwan but for me, the teachers here are not much different from the teachers I had in the Philippines. Oh well.

I love people who take the time to keep in touch with me. I guess that’s one of the true signs of friendship, right? If they’re willing to type out all the stories and tell you what’s going on in their lives, then that means you’re friendship is important to the other person. Aside from typical updates about each other lives, I also like the meaningful conversations I’ve had with some of my friends from back home. Makes me feel good. I also find it funny that people are more willing to share/rant about stuff now that I’m in Taiwan (well, to be honest, they were also willing before). They’re more willing to type it out compared to before when they’d say that they’re just gonna tell me in person, blah blah.

Working there was good money, I suppose. I mean, I know I could have gotten more had I worked in another company, but it’s all right. I got a lot there as well. Plus, I liked (like) most of the people in my team, so that’s good. I’m too lazy to check if I’ve mentioned the company I worked for a while back, so if you know it, good for you then! Hahaha.

The list of free cultural courses for 2011 Fall Term has been released. I’m signing up for Basic Composition 初級作文 (I hope they’ll allow me to sign up for this even if it’s for levels lower than my current level because I think this can serve as a refresher course for me), Basic Taiwanese 初級台語 (it’d be cool to learn a new language/find out how similar or different it is to Hokkien), TOCFL Listening Learner 聽力 (I won’t take the TOCFL this year but this can serve as a preparation for next year’s exam), Beading 串珠 (I think this will be interesting as well). I wanted to take Chinese Opera mask Painting 臉譜, Chinese knotting 中國結, Paper Lantern 剪紙燈籠, and Chinese Thread-bound Book 線裝書 as well but they’re in conflict with the TOCFL class, and I think that’s more important so… Oh well!

It’s Mid-Autumn Festival 中秋節 on Monday (it’s considered a National Holiday). Back in the Philippines, we would celebrate this by eating mooncake and playing the dice game. Apparently, here in Taiwan, the dice game isn’t as famous. People here usually celebrate it by having a barbeque (it’s National BBQ Day!) instead. According to The Taiwan What’s Up (The National Immigration Agency’s biweekly newsletter) No. 78,

It all started with an advertisement. A major barbeque sauce company in the mid-1980s launched a TV commercial with the slogan “The pleasant smell of family barbeque flows to thousands of households.” A few years later, a competitor started another campaign with the motto “Moon Festival night is BBQ night. It is thus little wonder that barbequing has since become the major trend for celebrating the national holiday across the island, in addition to the mooncakes and pomelos.

There you have it.

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipino | University of the Philippines Diliman | BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University | MA International Development | Currently working in the logistics industry Gotta live like you're dying ♥ Believe in yourself and don't be afraid to seize opportunities Stay positive

2 responses »

Tell me what you think...

