September 7, 2011

Standard

I told my sister that I wasn’t gonna blog today because nothing special really happened but here I am, typing away. I’ve suddenly thought of a couple of things that I wanna write down.

Let me go through my day first. I woke up, took a bath, got my breakfast from my aunt, and rushed out the door.  I walked to the bus stop, waited for the bus, and went to my school. I walked from the lower campus to the upper campus (read: climbed a mountain!) for 10 minutes (read: brisk walked. My legs hurt!) and then I rode the elevator up to the 4th floor. I took the stairs for the past 2 days but then I figured, why suffer when I can always just ride the elevator?! LOL.

I bumped into FC guy on my way up. I really find it amusing that he’s such an FC guy. We don’t know each other and I wouldn’t even consider us to be friends, but for some reason, he acts as if we’re close friends. He just keeps saying things which are… off. Things you wouldn’t say to someone you don’t know! Tsk. Poor little pathetic oldie!

I attended my class. I’m not yet accustomed to having a 10 minute break every hour though. It’s just not something we have in the Philippines. I mean, I could have 4.5 hours of classes without a single break in between! I guess that’s one of the differences in Taiwan’s educational system – and I guess it’s the same for Japan. They have set times for classes – 1st period, 2nd period, etc. and a bell would ring at the start and at the end of each period. Cool!

I sat beside this Japanese classmate again. For my sister’s sake, I reiterated the fact that she was indeed a scholarship recipient, and the only reason she ate a lot of onigiri (rice balls?) back in Japan was because she really liked them. It’s not because she was poor or anything like that. Hahaha! We’ve actually already talked about a lot of things. Aside from using the vocabs in our lesson, we’ve deviated to talking about other things. He said that he looks up to Pacquiao and I told him about Pacquiao’s not-so-smart move of running for office and going into politics. He also said that he wants to visit the Philippines soon and I told him that he’s gonna love it there because we have cheap stuff (compared to Japan of course) and the people are really nice! Plus, we have awesome tourist destinations! Woot! He also has a lot of foreigner friends who are currently teaching him how to speak English (he only recently started learning because he feels that he is now more comfortable with his Chinese and he can move on to learning another language). Blah blah blah!

I’ve finally made up my mind. I was actually torn between moving to a higher level or staying where I am. One of my classmates tried the higher level today and he said that there are only 3 of them in the class. It’s more of a culture class and they played Chinese chess today. It’s also more of a conversation class and the teacher corrects their grammar/pronunciation whenever possible. On the one hand, it would be good for me to move there since the class isn’t that big and the teacher can focus more on the students, but on the other hand, as I’m browsing through our current book, I feel that I have a lot to learn. I haven’t used the language for such a long time so I really need to build up my vocabulary list, and relearn some of the sentence structures. We’re going to be studying the last 10 chapters of this book (the first 4 chapters were supposedly taught at the previous level) and there are at least 45 vocabularies (is this how you say it?) and 5 sentence structures for each chapter so I think that it’s also going to be good for me to stay in this level. Skipping 10 chapters is too much. I could learn the stuff on my own, you say? Well, there’s that option too but for some reason, I really feel like this level is going to be good for me. The teacher is very meticulous and she gives out a lot of supplementary materials (aside from the textbook and the workbook). For the current chapter, she gave us 10 pages worth of handouts. Plus, we have written homework everyday and a quiz every other day, so I really think that she can help me. I’m moving to the next level next term anyway. No rush. I won’t be able to finish all the levels of the Center, but it’s all right. I just find it a bit hard to get up in the morning, but it’s a sacrifice we have to make!

I stayed at the library (reading room) again after class. I did Friday’s homework (I had already done Thursday’s homework yesterday, hihi!) and I also studied for tomorrow’s quiz. I saw him again! We smiled at each other again! That’s pretty much about it. I think he has the 12:10PM class and that he just hangs out at the reading room before his class. I hope he does that everyday, so that I can see him everyday as well! I’m sorta hoping that we sign up for the same free culture course, just so I would know his name and spend 5 hours with him. Hahaha! Let’s see.

I talked to F earlier tonight and she asked me about my future plans. At this point, I’m really not sure where my life is headed but I have a couple of vague plans for the not-so-immediate future. She told me to try *toot*. I dunno if I have the skills to do that, but I’m very much willing to learn and I’m open to new stuff so… qué será, será.

Okay, that’s it! Ta-ta for now!

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipina | University of the Philippines Diliman | BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University | MA International Development | Working in the logistics industry Believe in yourself and don't be afraid to seize opportunities ♥

8 responses »

Tell me what you think...

