September 5, 2011

Standard

Random stuff from my mind:

First day today! We had speaking and writing exercises – more like diagnostic exams. For the speaking exercises, we were paired off and we had to ask each other questions from this piece of paper. After around 5 questions, we changed partners. Then for the writing exercise, it was 2 pages long filled with phrases and set words and questions that we had to answer. I died! There were a couple of words there that I had already forgotten the meaning of/I had never encountered so uhh.. Heehee. Oh well! We need to buy this book (which costs around 900NT!) and this workbook for class. I feel like I’m gonna be staying in this level because there are already a lot of words/phrases/expressions that I’ve forgotten how to say, and write, so this will be good for me.

There are 10 of us in the class – 3 Japanese, 2 Americans, 1 Russian, 1 French, 2 Germans, and me! They seem nice. The prof told us that we’re gonna have homework everyday and probably a quiz every other day. I’m fine with that, because at least I’ll have a lot of things to do. According to her, she wants us to get our money’s worth. We’re paying a lot to study the language so of course, she wants us to improve and to keep practicing it. There will still be time to have fun and relax but of course, studies come first. Yay her!

At the welcome party, I met another Pinoy who was born and who grew up in the USA. It’s funny how he was so excited upon learning that I was from the Philippines because he said he wants to practice his Filipino. His parents didn’t teach him how to speak the language but he was interested so he taught himself. Funny. On the way home, I bumped into 1 of my Japanese classmates and he was with this Korean guy. They accompanied me to the university bookstore (cos they’ve already studied at NCCU CLC last term) because I was supposed to buy the book, but then I didn’t have enough money so I’ll just buy it tomorrow. The Korean guy knows how to speak Japanese too! They said that I’m pretty. My eyes are pretty as well. Hihihi.

Also, the Russian guy beside me during the orientation turns out to be in a higher level than I am. I kept saying “huh” to him when we were talking. Oops! I really couldn’t understand him that well. I dunno if it’s just me or if it’s really him. Boohoo! He approached me at the welcome party and told me that I’m his only other friend so far. I was touched! Lol. I’m sorry I keep saying “huh”! I promise to try to understand you better!

About Therese

27 years old | Chinese-Filipina | University of the Philippines Diliman | BA European Languages (Spanish major, Speech Communication minor) 2011 | National Chengchi University | MA International Development | Working in the logistics industry Believe in yourself and don't be afraid to seize opportunities ♥

9 responses »

  1. Totally agree with Tiff! Top the class, Thea! WOOT! You can do it. :D Itaas ang bandera ng Filipinas! ^_^

    And yeah, I heard there are a lot of Filipino kids who really want to learn Filipino – really happy to know that it’s indeed real.

    Like

    • Hahaha I shall try! xD But I feel like a lot of them are better than me because they’ve been studying the language for the past 3 years or something and so mas sanay na sila, diba? I mean, parang ako ang tagal tagal na since inaral ko so nakalimutan ko na maraming vocab words, eh sila continuous aral for the past years, so gets? Hahaha! But yeah :))

      Yeah, I guess. Sana lang wag niyang artehan ang pagsalita naiinis ako. Y’know me. Parang sinasadya niya kasi talaga artehan eh. Alam kong kaya niyang mas maayos magsalita but for some reason… I dunno! Hihi but fine I shall be nice!

      Like

Tell me what you think...

